Walscheid takes 4th on opening Langkawi stage

The first stage of the Tour de Langkawi saw a 2-rider breakaway survive to the line, with Evgeniy Fedorov (Vino-Astana Motors) taking the win ahead of Turakit Boonratanathanakorn (Thailand Continetal). Ahmet Orken (Team Sapura) won the sprint for 3rd.

Stage 1 of the Tour de Langkawi was a short and fast 85km stage around Kuching. The break formed just after 30km of racing and quickly built a lead of just over 5-minutes.

NTT Pro Cycling took up the chase from the main peloton, but with no assistance from the rival sprint teams it was always going to be difficult to reel in the leaders on the tight local laps in Kuching.

Unfortunately for NTT Pro Cycling, the duo made it all the way to line and the bunch would sprint it out for 3rd, Max Walscheid taking 4th place for us.