Vuelta a Espana Stage 9: Janse van Rensburg sprints to 10th

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) won stage 9 of the Vuelta a Espana after Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quickstep) was relegated from the results due to an irregular sprint.

Stage 9 of the Vuelta a Espana was a rare opportunity for the sprinters, with a mostly all flat 157km stage to Aguilar de Campoo.

Only two riders would jump into the break of the day, as it was clear nearly all teams were hoping for a bunch kick today. The leading duo was easily brought back by the main bunch with still 22km to go as the sprint teams jostled for position ahead of the finale.

NTT Pro Cycling was looking after Reinardt Janse van Rensburg for the sprint, with Carlos Barbero playing a key role for our South African sprinter in the closing kilometers.

Entering the final corner at 1.3km to go, Janse van Rensburg was well placed behind the train of Deceuninck-Quickstep but when the sprint opened up, he was just missing the final kick required to challenge for a top result.

It would be 11th across the line for Janse van Rensburg but after the relegation of Bennett, it would finally be 10th place on the stage.