Tour of Poland #1: Boasson Hagen takes 11th in chaotic sprint

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) sprinted to the stage 1 victory at the Tour of Poland today. Alvaro Hodeg (Quickstep-Floors) placed 2nd and Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) finished in 3rd place.

It was just a short 133km stage to get this year’s edition of the Tour of Poland underway and with a circuit finish in downtown Krakow, a mass sprint finish was the order of the day. Our African Team was looking to Edvlad Boasson Hagen for the finale but the triangular 4km circuit with 3 sharp left-hand corners made it a technical finish.

Bernhard Eisel, Jaco Venter and Johann van Zyl worked well to try and position Boasson Hagen for the final laps as Ben O’Connor also stayed ahead of any trouble near the front of the group. Bora-Hansgrohe and Quickstep-Floors had the two strongest leadouts at the race and they dictated the final 3km.

Our Norwegian had the wheel of Ackermann inside 2km to go but got squeezed for position at a critical point and went into the sprint well back from a prime place. As the kick for the line opened, Boasson Hagen had to follow the wheels ahead of him and while he gained a good few places, it was only good enough for 11th place at the end.