Tour de Langkawi #5: A quiet day in Malaysia


An escape group was finally able to stay away in Langkawi, and stage winner Seo Joon Yong (KSPO) crossed the finish line 13:30 ahead of the peloton. The bunch was led home by race leader Caleb Ewan (Orica-GreenEdge). Youcef Reguigui was the team’s best place finisher, placing 13th on the day.

It was another hot day in Langkawi, and after about 55 km, a group of eight riders got away. They built up a huge gap, over 15 minutes. After the gap didn’t come down, MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung moved to help lead the chase.

After 150 km, Jacques Janse van Rensburg took off in pursuit with two other riders, but they were soon caught again by the field. From there the peloton stayed together as they traveled south along the coastline to the finish in Kuantan.

Tomorrow the race will continue with a 100 km long rolling stage from Maran to Karak.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email