Tour de Langkawi #3: Break make it all the way

Adam De Vos (Rally Cycling) picked up the Tour de Langkawi stage 3 win, ahead of Daeyeon Kim (KSPO Bianchi Asia Procycling) and Nik Mohd Hazwan Zulkiflie (Forca Amskins Racing).

Stage 3 was a completely flat stage that ran 166km from Kota Bharu to Kuala Terengganu. With the stage profile, it was expected to be a sprinters day, but the winner of the day came from the break. Nine riders managed to get away within the first kms of racing, and consisted of De Vos (Rally), Zulkiflie (Forca), Ali (Kfc), Lebas (Kinan), Kim (KSPO), Sweeny (Mitchelton), Peerapol (Thailand ct), Awang and Kamal (Malaysia).

They managed to push their lead to over six minutes at some points. In the final stretch of the race, the peloton started to eat at the gap, but it was not enough to catch the riders, reduced to four towards the end of the race. They went on to contest the win, with Adam de Vos picking up the win and thus ensuring that he will start tomorrow in the leader’s jersey.

Gino Van Oudenhove- Sports Director
“It was supposed to be a sprinter day here today. It was up to the leaders’ jersey and the sprint teams to control the day. We decided only to work if a break would jeopardize our GC chances later this week. We noticed the peloton wasn’t going to catch the break. We checked out the breakaway riders, and they should not be any danger for the GC, but we didn’t want to take too much of a chance and helped in the end, to reduce the breakaways advantage.”