Paris – Tours Elite: Eisel features in the break

Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) won Paris-Tours ahead of Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors) and Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R La Mondiale).

The 112th edition of the race offered a new improvised route, with the final 60km of racing containing seven new climbs. The new gravel sections, dispersed over 12,7km, certainly added excitement to the day’s proceedings. Bernhard Eisel made the break for Team Dimension Data, along with five other riders. Once they were reeled in, the gravel sectors caused the peloton to fracture and created small groups of riders along the course. Andersen, Terpstra and Cosnefroy lead the race as it entered the final stretch. Andersen crossed the line 25 seconds ahead of the other two.

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg was our highest placed rider, finishing in 34th place, as many of our riders suffered punctures during crucial moments of the race.

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg- Rider
The new format of the race definitely made for a spectacular final. Unfortunately luck wasn’t on our side, as me, Julien, Edvald and Nic all suffered punctures. Bernie gave me a wheel after my first puncture, but after a second one, there wasn’t much we could do anymore. It’s very disappointing right now, because I felt really good, but that’s racing I guess.