Pardilla ends 5th overall after a flying time trial effort

Aleksejs Saramotins (IAM Cycling) won the final individual time trial stage of the Vuelta a Burgos.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) would finish 2nd on the stage and with that, the Colombian would secure the overall victory once again at the Vuelta a Burgos. Imanol Erviti (Movistar) would round out the stage podium.

While the time trialing discipline has never been a strong point for Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung, DS Manel Lacambra had said yesterday that he was looking forward to seeing good performances by Daniel Teklehaimanot and Sergio Pardilla today. Both riders did not disappoint. Teklehaimanot would go on to finish just 15 seconds off the winning time in 11th place. Pardilla would only be 23 seconds back, in 14th spot and this was enough for the Spaniard to leap frog his way from 9th to 5th overall on the GC.

The performances from this week will now allow Pardilla and the rest of the Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung squad that is heading to the Vuelta a Espana next week to take a lot of confidence with them.

Vuelta a Burgos (Spain) – (13-17 August/UCI 2.HC) Team Lineup

Sergio Pardilla (ESP)
Linus Gerdemann (GER)
Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA)
Dennis van Niekerk (RSA)
Daniel Teklehaimanot (ERI)
Tsgabu Grmay (ETH)
Youcef Reguigui (ALG)

Stage Profiles Overview

Stage 5 – Sunday 17 Aug (12.5km TT)

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email