Latest News

All the latest news and happenings within Team Qhubeka NextHash can be found right here. Stay up-to-date, never miss a beat and be sure to share our stories with your fellow fans. 

Ulissi unbeatable at GP Camaiore

The GP Camaiore saw the inform Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) notch up his second victory of the year. The young Italian rider was able to outsprint his 3 breakaway companions to earn himself the victory. Matteo Montaguti (AG2R La Mondiale) was 2nd with Julien Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing) in 3rd. The race got underway with a flurry of attacks but it was only after more than 50km that a break was able to make their gap stick. Johnny Hoogerland (Androni Giocattoli), Daniele Colli (Yellow Fluo), Silvio Giorni (Area Zero) and Riccardo Donato (MG Kvis – Trevigiani) were the four riders who would animate the race up until.

Read More »

Another Sprint Stage for Bos in Langkawi

The 8th stage of Le Tour de Langkawi saw a pretty stock standard bunch sprint stage where Theo Bos (Belkin) picked up his 3rd victory of the race. The Dutch rider beat the fast finishing Andrea Gaurdini (Astana) and Kenny van Hummel (Androni Giocattoli) to take top honours on the day. Once again a small break of three riders animated the day but with not a single categorized climb along the 202km route, the race was always going to end in a bunch sprint. Like clockwork, the break was caught with 11km to go. A few attacks then went off the front but with the high pace.

Read More »

Preview: GP Camaiore

Today Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will take to the start of the GP Camaiore one day cycle race in Italy. It will be the first time Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung line up at this, the 65th edition, of the Italian race. A race that was won by Peter Sagan (Cannondale) last year from a 10 rider sprint could see a similar group of riders arrive at the finish together. The course features 6 ascents of the Monte Pitoro climb over 186km of racing. While the 3km climb is not all that challenging in terms of distance, it does have an average gradient above 7% that will.

Read More »

Report: 46th Le Samyn

Photo Credit: Laurens Vervust In a fast paced race run under near perfect weather conditions, Maxime Vantomme (Roubaix – Lille Metropole) won the 46th edition of the Le Samyn. Vantomme was able to get the better of Alexey Tsatevich (Katusha) and Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ.Fr) in the exciting final sprint finish. There was hardly a dull moment during the 198km race as a main break of the day could hardly establish itself before it was brought back again. Nico Sijmens (WGG), Glenn Van de Maele (PCW) and Romain Hubert (CCB) were the early leaders but after a crash in the peloton with around 76km to go, Omega.

Read More »

Augustyn Abandons, Bos the fastest in the sprint

The 7th and the longest stage of the Le Tour de Langkawi came down to another bunch sprint earlier today. After 230km of racing, Theo Bos (Belkin) dominated the sprint to the line to win the 7th stage. Aidis Kruopis (Orica GreenEdge) was a bike length back in 2nd with Leonardo Duque (Colombia) taking 3rd. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung saw its South African rider, John-Lee Augustyn, have to abandon the race after struggling with a slight knee injury. “Yes unfortunately John-Lee had to abandon today. He has been struggling with a knee injury and rather than risk doing any long term serious damage he stopped. This will adversely.

Read More »

MTN-Qhubeka line up at Le Samyn

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will take on the 195km Le Samyn Belgian race this afternoon. In a race where Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung placed two riders in the top 10 last year, the team will again look to ride strongly in the Belgian semi-classic. While the majority of the race is rather flat there are a few challenges midway on the route.  5 typical short steep Belgian climbs, a few cobbled sections and the usual Belgian spring weather usually split this race up quite a bit. With these main challenges being quite far from the finish though, tradition has always seen a slight regrouping of.

Read More »