Milan- Sanremo: Nibali wins Milan- Sanremo

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) put in a brave race to win Milan-Sanremo 2018. Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) placed second, followed by Arnaud Demare (Groupama FDJ).

The first Classic Monument of the season promised to be very exciting race, spanning 294km. It was wet start to that greeted the riders, but as the day progressed towards Sanremo, the weather started to improve.

As soon as the race started, a break of nine riders managed to make it away. They were Mirco Maestri (Bardiani CSF), Lorenzo Rota (Bardiani CSF), Evgeny Koberniak (Gazprom Rusvelo), Guy Sagiv (Israel Cycling Academy), Dennis Van Winden (Israel Cycling Academy), Sho Hatsuyama (Nippo-Vini Fantini), Charles Planet (Novo Nordisk), Matteo Bono (UAE Team Emirates), Jacopo Mosca (Wilier Selle Italia). Teams such Bora, Sky and BMC set the pace of the peloton for the majority of the race. Julien Vermote also helped pull at the front of the peloton for our African team and the break were caught with 30 km to go.

As the race rolled into Sanremo, the roads dried up and the racing got to the business end. The first climb heading into Sanremo, Cipressa, caused some of the peloton to drop off, but a group of race favourites managed to stay together. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida attacked on Poggio and went on to win the race. Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) took second place, with Arnaud Demare (Groupama FDJ) in third place. Edvald Boasson Hagen took a hard fought 16th place for our African Team.

Mark Cavendish was involved in a crash with 10km to go. He has been taken to hospital for further assessment and further details will be made available once a thorough assessment has been conducted.