Konovalovas shows real fight to finish 7th on final Denmark stage

The final stage of the Tour of Denmark saw Nicola Boem (Bardiani-CSF) take the stage win from a break away group of 13 riders.

Valerio Agnoli (Astana) took 2nd on the stage and with Martin Mortensen (Cult Energy Vital Water) in 3rd place. Also represented in the race winning move was Michael Valgren (Tinkoff-Saxo) and by reaching the finish 42″ ahead of the peloton, the Danish rider was able to secure the overall victory.

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung were in the thick of the action too with Ignatas Konovalovas also represented in that final move of the day. Konovalovas already showed signs of some good form during yesterdays time trial and confirmed his strength today by contributing to the success of the final break. Konovalovas would settle for 7th in the sprint to the line.

The early racing saw the peloton stay together for the better part of the opening 100km’s. It was only with 70km’s to go that any real break would form and it would prove to be the decisive move of the day. The break never got more than a minutes lead but the commitment in keeping the pace high from all the riders was impressive and enough to stay away in the end.

Director Sportif – Jens Zemke
We had Ignatas in the break today which also changed the GC completely. He finished 7th on the stage. Our target was at least a top 5 today because in Gerald we had one of the best sprinters from the bunch and he was concentrated on a result today. After our long break and altitude camp we were riding better and better as a team with each stage. From this race we can take away a 2nd place and 2 top 10 placings. The Tour of Denmark was a great race and our team was visible in front of the big crowds here so we can leave happy even though we didn’t get the win we wanted.

Post Danmark Rundt – Tour of Denmark (Denmark) – (6-10 Aug/UCI 2.HC) Team Lineup

Gerald Ciolek (GER)
Andreas Stauff (GER)
Martin Reimer (GER)
Ignatas Konovalovas (LTU)
Jaco Venter (RSA)
Jay Thomson (RSA)
Martin Wesemann (RSA)
Johann van Zyl (RSA)

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email