Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal: Boasson Hagen takes 10th

Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) picked up his second win in Canada by winning the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal ahead of Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida) and Greg van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team).

The Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal was a circuit course of 15 laps around downtown Montreal for a total distance of 195.2km. The last 500m offered a slight incline to the finish line.

Early into racing a break of five riders made it away, but the teams with sprint ambitions kept a tight eye on proceedings. With 25km of racing left, Reinardt Janse van Rensburg tried to bridge across to the the front group with two other riders, but they were unable to make the jump.The front group were reeled in with 11km of racing left.

While there were plenty attacks off the front, the race went down to a bunch sprint, that started from a long range. Matthews outsprinted the pack to take the win. Edvald Boasson Hagen was in the mix for Team Dimension Data secured tenth spot for our us.

Edvald Boasson Hagen- Rider
It was a hard race towards the end, but I managed to stay in the front group over the last climb. However, once we got to the U-turn, I was bit far behind for the sprint. It was a pity that I didn’t have the positioning… It’s been great to race in Canada and the crowds have been fantastic.