Eschborn-Frankfurt: Eddy takes 8th

Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) took his third consecutive win at Eschborn-Frankfurt. Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) placed second with Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale) finishing off the podium.

The World Tour classic Eschborn-Frankfurt, only one of two World Tour events in Germany, started in Eschborn this morning. Running 212km, the race ended in a bunch sprint in Frankfurt.

Once racing started, a break of seven made it away and had built a lead of five minutes 20kms into racing. As the climbs of the day were tackled, the breakaway lost riders, but after a few attacks from the peloton, a new break of eight was established. The break contained Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo), Gregor Muhlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Bjorg Lambrecht (Lotto Soudal), Nils Politt and Simon Spilak (Katusha-Alpecin), Laurens De Plus (Quick-Step Floors), Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe), and Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo).

With a bunch sprint expected, a reduced break was reeled in with 3km to go. Edvald Boasson Hagen was well-positioned for our African team, but lost places on the second last corner. Kristoff (UAE) went on to take the win, followed by Matthews (Sunweb) and Naesen (AG2R). Boasson Hagen finished 8th.

Edvald Boasson Hagen- Rider
It was a pretty fast day today and we did race well together. I did lose my position on the second last corner so ended up too far behind in the sprint. But I did in general feel quite good. So was pity that I didn’t get even better. I’m looking forward to the next races and the second part of the season.