Demare wins Tour de l’Eurometropole

The Tour de l’Eurometropole reached its conclusion yesterday with Arnaud Demare ( reigning supreme by taking out the final stage as well as the overall classification.

In the final sprint to the line, the Frenchman got the better of Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Belisol) and Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp). Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had Andreas Stauff sprint his way into a good 7th place on the final stage.

Debusschere and Theo Bos (Belkin) would flank Demare on the overall classification podium after both riders were able to pick up enough bonus seconds over the last four days, separating them from the rest of the sprinters. Stauff had shown some consistent sprinting form throughout the 4 day tour as well, and would eventually end up 13th in overall classification.

There are now just a handful of one day races left for Team MTN-Qhubeka this week before the African team concludes their second season as Pro-Continental outfit.

Full Tour de l’Eurometropole Results can be viewed here: Results

Tour de l’Eurometropole (Belgium) – (2-5 Oct/UCI 2.1) Team Lineup
Gerald Ciolek (GER)
Jaco Venter (RSA)
Martin Wesemann (RSA)
Johann van Zyl (RSA)
Nicolas Dougall (RSA)
Ignatas Konovalovas (LTU)
Linus Gerdemann (GER)
Andy Stauff (GER)

Stage Profiles Overview

Stage 1 – 2 October (191km)

Stage 2 – 3 October (171km)

Stage 3 – 4 October (174km)

Stage 4 – 5 October (155km)

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email