Curtain closes on 2018 as Team Dimension Data looks to the future


The 2018 season for Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka formally drew to a close following a hugely successful annual training camp in Cape Town from 12-18 November.

All 27 riders for the 2019 season were present including a host of new staff that was based at the Southern Sun, The Cullinan hotel near the V&A Waterfront.

The camp included internal planning sessions, training rides and wide-ranging partner interactions with the goal to fully integrate our new team members as well as start our formal planning process for 2019.

The week also included one of the most special days in our calendar as we attended a Qhubeka distribution ceremony at the Bulumka Secondary School in Khayelitsha. 75 Qhubeka bicycles were handed over on the day with the team having already surpassed their goal of funding 5000 bicycles in 2018.

Douglas Ryder, Team Principal, said: “Having raced for nearly 300 days in 2018 to have the opportunity for all of our riders, some of our staff and partners to spend time handing over Qhubeka bicycles to recipients in Khayelitsha was a deeply moving moment for all. We always say that it’s the best day in our year, and this year absolutely proved to be so once again.

“We had an intense but hugely enjoyable camp in Cape Town and I’d like to thank each and every partner that took the time and effort to spend time with us and together determining the next step in our future.

“Our planning for 2019 is already at an advanced stage and we all left the camp clearly aligned in what our goals and targets are for next year. We can’t wait to get back racing.”

2019 Rider Roster

1. Bernhard Eisel (AUT)
2. Mark Cavendish (GB)
3. Louis Meintjes (RSA)
4. Mark Renshaw (AUS)
5. Michael Valgren (DEN)
6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR)
7. Lars Bak (DEN)
8. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA)
9. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA)
10. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (RSA)
11. Jacques Janse van Rensburg (RSA)
12. Danilo Wyss (SUI)
13. Jay Thomson (RSA)
14. Jaco Venter (RSA)
15. Julien Vermote (BEL)
16. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED)
17. Roman Kreuziger (CZE)
18. Gino Mäder (SUI)
19. Rasmus Tiller (NOR)
20. Ryan Gibbons (RSA)
21. Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (ERI)
22. Steve Cummings (GB)
23. Ben King (USA)
24. Nicholas Dlamini (RSA)
25. Stefan de Bod (RSA)
26. Scott Davies (GB)
27. Ben O’Connor (AUS)