Criterium du Dauphine: Boasson Hagen our best during prologue

Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) got the Criterium du Dauphine off to the fastest start possible, winning the opening 6.6km prologue. 2nd place went the way of Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) while Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) secured 3rd place.

Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka sent its 2 fastest riders against the clock, Steve Cummings and Edvald Boasson Hagen, out early on hoping to set the bar high for the riders to follow. Both riders set good early markers, considering they crossed the line with the same time of 7’43”.

The short course prologue specialists soon eclipsed our duo’s time with Van Emden holding the hot seat for the longest period of time, before Kwiatkowski bettered the Dutchman’s time near the back end of the stage.

Our 5 remaining African Team riders all got through the course inside a minute of Kwiatkowski’s time, as the Polish rider took the prologue victory and the first yellow leaders jersey of the race.