Criterium du Dauphine #4: Boasson Hagen fastest against the clock

Richie Porte (BMC Racing) won the stage 4 individual time trial at the Criterium du Dauphine, stopping the clock just ahead of time trial world champion Tony Martin (Katusha) and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) respectively.

The 4th stage of the Criterium du Dauphine took shape in the form of a 23.5km individual time trial. It was a tough test against the clock that saw the true time trial specialists populate the top of the results sheet. Our African Team did not have a specialist for today’s particular stage but Edvald Boasson Hagen has shown his power over slightly shorter courses and so he gave his all over the extended effort.

Our Norwegian Champion was able to set a respectable time just 1’10” slower than Porte’s winning time of 28’07”. The result placed Boasson Hagen in 22nd position on the day, as the main TT specialists split each other by seconds. Our 7 other African Team riders saw today’s stage as an opportunity to recharge the body ahead of the upcoming climbing stages and had no problems out on course. Before the mountains are reached though, we have one last opportunity for the sprinters during tomorrow’s stage.