Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) won the opening stage of the Tour of Guangxi, sprinting to victory ahead of Max Walscheid (Team Sunweb) and Fabio Jakobsen (Quickstep-Floors) respectively. The Tour of Guangxi got underway with just a short 107km stage around Beihai and the flat nature of the parours ensured a fast stage. Team Dimension Data were in the mix from early on as Jay Thomson made the early 6-rider break of the day. With the peloton not prepared to let the break get all that far up the road, Thomson returned to the main group but only after picking up a few valuable bonus seconds.