Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) won the final monument of the year, Il Lombardia, after attacking on the penultimate climb of the day and soloing to the victory. Julian Alaphilippe (Quickstep-Floors) finished in 2nd with Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) rounding out the podium.  The day started well for Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka as Jacques Janse van Rensburg made the early break of the day as the riders left Bergamo. The peloton held the attackers close for quite some time, before the elastic snapped and the gap ballooned to over 12-minutes for the 6 riders. The big lead obtained early on may have been to the detriment.