The Coppa Sabatini saw a slightly bigger than expected bunch arrive at the final together and Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani) was the days victor. Andrea Pasqualon (Team Roth) was 2nd in the uphill sprint with Carlos Barbero (Caja-Rural) taking 3rd place. Kristian Sbaragli was our best placed rider of the day, in 9th. The 195km route took in 3 different sized circuits but all would go over the same 1.5km finishing climb. It would be a total of 10 ascents with 6 coming in the final 66km of the race, making for a tough finale. The race started off with only 2 riders getting clear of.

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg was Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka’s best placed finisher today, as he crossed the line in St-Pieters-Leeuw in 7th place. In a hectic sprint reigning World Champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) got the better of Andr√© Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) and Alexander Kristoff (Katusha). With a few cobbled sections en route from Aalter to St-Pieters-Leeuw the race got right into the action when Mark McNally (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Brian Van Goethem (Roompot), Sjoerd Van Ginneken (Roompot), and Bert Van Lerberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise) forged clear. The quartet opened up a gap of just over 4 minutes but wasn’t allowed to stay away. With less than 100.