The 20th stage of the Vuelta a Espana would be won by Ruben Plaza (Lampre-Merida) after a 110km solo breakaway. Jose Goncalves (Caja-Rural) was 2nd and Alessandro De Marchi (BMC Racing) was 3rd. The stage saw a big breakaway of 38 riders go clear on the slopes of the first climb of the day. MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had Jaco Venter represented in the move while also in the group was David Arroyo (Caja-Rural). The Spaniard was around 7 minutes behind our Louis Meintjes and so we had to keep the break in check. This promoted Plaza to attack the leaders with 110km to go, a brave.

Edvald Boasson Hagen spent another day in the yellow leader’s jersey today. The 227 kilometer long stage from Fakenham to Ipswich was the longest of this year’s Tour of Britain. With only three category 3 climbs it was a stage for the fast guys. Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) was 1st over the line, beating double-stage winner Elia Viviani (Sky) into 2nd. Edvald crossed the line in 5th and will ride into London as GC leader. The stage was animated by a break of 3 riders. Alex Dowsett (Movistar), Graham Briggs (JLT-Condor) and Cullaigh (GB National Team) went off early and crossed the halfway point with a.