The first monument of the season is the epic 293 km race from Milan to San Remo. The 2015 edition was won by John Degenkolb of the Giant-Alpecin team in a time of 6 hours and 46 minutes. For Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung; Edvald Boasson Hagen finished in 10th position. 2013 winner, Gerald Ciolek, was in contention and looking strong prior to an unfortunate crash on the descent of the Poggio – less than 5 km from home. Both these riders rode intelligently to conserve energy through the race. In start contrast, their teammate, Serge Pauwels, went on the attack to allow his team leaders.

Louis Meintjes and Steve Cummings have both started this season off with a bang. Louis won the African Champs road race and the Coppi e Bartali. Stevo picked up a win at the Challenge Mallorca and performed superbly at the Tirreno-Adriatico too. Why did both riders decide to join MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung though? Find out in this clip..