Wednesday will see the running of another Belgian spring classic, the 103rd Scheldeprijs. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will be lining-up for the race that is often termed as the ‘Sprinters World Champs” with a strong roster of riders. Tyler Farrar is a former winner of the Scheldeprijs, a UCI 1.HC categorised event, and just last year the American ran 2nd in the sprint behind Marcel Kittel (Giant-Alpecin) as he did in 2012 as well. As the nickname suggests, the race typically suits the sprinters with no climbs on route to speak of. The main challenges come in the form of a few short cobble sectors.

Jacques Janse van Rensburg put on a strong display of riding at the opening Circuit la Sarthe stage, getting into the break of the day and mopping up all the GPM points on offer. In a nail biting finish, the South African champion fought bravely to only be caught a few hundred meters before the line. The stage victory would go to Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis). Jacques got into the break as early as the 5th kilometer today with Romain Lemarchand (Cult Energy) and Carlos Ramirez (Colombia) and the trio forced out an early lead of just over 11 minutes. The substantial gap gave the breakaway.