John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) took the victory of the 106th Milan-Sanremo from a small group sprint. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) took 2nd and Michael Matthews (Orica-Greenedge) had to settle for 3rd. For the 3rd year in succession MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung placed a rider in the top 10 with Edvald Boasson Hagen claiming 10th place. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung was a talking point throughout the day as Serge Pauwels animated the race by going on the attack from kilometer zero. Serge was joined by 10 other riders as over 290km of open roads lay before them. The escape group pushed on in the rain to open up a gap of just.