The GP du Canton in Gippingen came down to a sprint from a select group of riders, just as expected. The fastest rider on the day would prove to be Simon Geschke (Giant-Shimano). The German was able to beat Silvain Dillier (BMC Racing) and Jerome Baugnies (Wanty Groupe Gobert) into the minor podium postions. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had Sergio Pardilla finish with the front group, crossing the line 20th. The stage was characterised by a 3 man breakaway which included Roger Kluge (IAM Cycling), Gianfranco Zilioli (Androni Giocattoli) and Mirco Saggioriato (Switzerland). The trio were let out on a long leash of just on 10.

The 5th stage of the Tour de Korea again saw the breakaway contest for the line honours as 5 riders arrived at the finish just 16 seconds ahead of the charging peloton. Michael Cuming (Rapha Condor JLT) was able to out sprint his breakaway companions in the tactical finale. Ying Hon Ronald Yeung (OCBC Singapore) was 2nd while our young South African, Johann van Zyl claimed 3rd spot. The 5 rider move only went clear after 69km’s of racing today. Up until that point, racing had again been fast and furious with a number of attacks forcing a high speed early on. Once a slight.