Jerome Baugnies (Wanty Groupe Gobert) put in a very late attack during the opening stage of Tour des Fjords and was just able to hold off Magnus Cort Nielsen (Cult Energy) and Sondre Enger (Sparebanken) to take the victory. Kristian Sbaragli from Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung once again showed his sprint consistency with yet another top 10 finish. The 166km stage looked on paper, to be a good one for a sprint finish but with 9 riders forming part of the early breakaway, there was reason to be concerned. As quickly as the lead got up to 5’45”, it also came back down as the.

Heinrich Haussler (IAM Cycling) won the opening stage of the Bayern Rundfahrt by out sprinting Yauheni Hutarovich (AG2R La Mondiale) and Steele Von Hoff (Garmin Sharp) in a rain soaked race. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung were hoping to set up Gerald Ciolek for the stage but unfortunately after numerous crashes in the final kilometers the German would finish in 13th place today. Dominic Weinstein (Rad-Net Rose), Julian Kern (AG2R La Mondiale) and Jan Droste (Heizomat) would be the 3 early attackers of the race and the trio would go on to build up a lead of 6 minutes. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung, Team NetApp-Endura, Team.