The Trofeo Palma was the first race of the Mallorca Challenge and it came to its conclusion with Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) taking the win in a sprint finish. The day’s racing was characterized by a five man breakaway which included Ian Boswell (Team Sky), Alex Howes (Garmin Sharp), Alexandre Pichot (Team Europcar), Amets Txurruka (Caja-Rural) and Ronan Van Zandbeck (Cycling Team de Rijke) but the peloton never let them get more than a minutes lead. With the route set over 10 laps of a flat 11km circuit, it always looked like a bunch sprint would be the likely outcome. With just 12km to go the.

In what was an exhilarating race around the streets of Westiville, KwaZulu-Natal today. The South African Road Race Championships saw Louis Meintjes come away with the national jersey. Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) took the silver with defending champion, Jay Thomson taking the bronze medal. The days racing was hard and fast from the gun, with numerous attacks going off the front in the early stages. After 36km of racing the break for the day was finally established. Jacques Janse Van Rensburg, Jayde Julius (Bonitas), James Fourie (Europcar SA) and Darren Lill (Cannondale-Blend) were the riders that found themselves out ahead. The leaders steadily managed to build.